It’s Christmas Eve

It took it long enough to start feeling like Christmas.  I’m finally feeling in the mood, even though the whole season has pretty much passed us by.  I’m glad I’m finally feeling in the mood again.  It certainly took long enough.

The kids have been watching Christmas movies for most of the day.  When they weren’t watching Christmas movies, we were listening to Christmas music on the radio.  It was a pretty good way to get in the mood for Christmas.

img_20161224_112514_604

Nika chilling on the bus

Then there was my adventure.  I decided we had to get pajamas for the kids for Christmas.  I’m glad I did.  I was able to get pajamas for all of them for pretty much half off.  I hadn’t expected that.  As a result we still have just over $7 on our gift card.  I’m pretty happy about that.  Because it was still early and wet and gross, no one was really out.  It made our yearly tradition of having to buy something Christmas related on Christmas Eve really work out well.  I’m glad I’m the one to do it.  It really worked for us.  Nika even got to try out her new coat.  She was looking all kinds of snazzy today.  We had to take the bus and she was quite the popular girl.  I felt like the whole bus smelled like wet dog, but no one seemed to mind.  I got all kinds of compliments on how well behaved she was and how good she looked in her coat.  That’s becoming normal for us.  I’m slowly getting used to the attention.

img_20161224_120606_628Because it was wet and gross out, I didn’t get to enjoy the trip out nearly as much as I would have liked.  Thankfully it was a good test run for Nika’s jacket.  It kept her warm and dry despite all the gross and wet.  She wasn’t thrilled to be out in the weather, but she didn’t hate it as much as she could have.  I think I’m going to have to look into getting her a rain jacket, too.

I have to say, this jacket is a little big on her, but it covers her straight to the rump.  It sits a little far back on the shoulders, but the coverage is pretty good.  It’s big enough on her that I can easily add another layer if I need to.  It was wet and cold out, but she seemed to fare pretty well.  I’m really happy with the way the jacket is working out for her.  Of course, she’s also wearing a brown coat, which tickles the Firefly fan in me.  My dog is now a Browncoat!  If only they made their rain jackets in brown too!

There wasn’t a huge crowd out either, which helped.  I looked for the pajamas, settled on my selections, then went on to get some stuff for my nails, and some chocolate milk that I didn’t even get to have much of before it was jacked by the littlest.  Wouldn’t you know it, about an hour after I got home the sun came out and it was warm and beautiful.  Oh well.  At least I know I missed the bulk of the traffic and the crowds.

Now we’ve got painting going on.  The house was cleaned while I was gone, so I figured we should do our part and work on finishing up the painting.  I did as much as I could before my arm started screaming at me.  I’ve painted most of that last room by hand.  I needed a break.  That’s going to be done before long and then it’ll be time to settle the kids to bed.  They’re going to watch the launch of Santa on Reindeer Cam, then Prep and Landing, then it’s off to bed.  I’m hoping I can get the boys at least to squeeze in a shower, but I don’t know if we can.  I’d love to have them shower, get into their new pajamas, and watch the last movie.  Then they can hustle off to bed, nice and clean, so they’ll be ready for pictures with their presents in the morning.

We also took a look at what the presents were on the listed bags last night.  There’s some pretty good stuff in there.  The boys had kind of a small amount, but I don’t think they’ll care.  At least I hope they won’t.  The littlest has a whole bunch, a pretty crazy amount, actually.  I think that’s for the best.  The littlest one often gets forgotten.  The older kids, especially my daughter, get a lot of attention from family friends.  The littlest often gets forgotten or told to go away and ignored.  It’s got to be frustrating.  I’d like just for once for the little one to be spoiled.  That’s how it should be.  The littlest is supposed to get spoiled, yet in our house it’s always the oldest.

I have to admit, I’m ready to call it a day.  We still have presents to wrap (though thankfully few) and everything to set out for the big day.  It’s not quite as big of a spread as it was last year, but it’s still pretty good.  I’m pretty happy with the way everything turned out, and I’ll be honest, more is not always better.  I would like to get to the point when Santa brings less stuff each year until we get to the point where Santa only brings one or two things.  Last year we had gifts from Salvation Army, Project Imagine, SMOC, and the VA’s group, though I’m not sure who they were.  This year there’s gifts from the VA and the National Honors Society.  I have to be honest, the gifts from Salvation Army weren’t a great selection, very little the kids had much interest in, so that’s not a loss.  SMOC gave us a lot of very generic stuff, but it also didn’t match the kids needs.  I’m much happier with the groups that have people buy specifically for each kid.  They get what they really want that way.  I know we’ll lose NHS next year because the kids won’t be in the school system, but just getting gifts from the VA would probably be fine, especially since they give gifts to the adults too.  I’m also not going to bother wrapping Nika’s presents.  There’s no real point.  I can just set them all under the tree.

Now it’s just the countdown to things kicking off.  The Reindeer Cam Santa Launch happens in less than an hour.  Prep and Landing starts about the same time.  Then it’s off to bed with the kids and hopefully they’ll actually go to sleep.  Hopefully we won’t fall asleep with them.  Wouldn’t that be awkward, for them to wake up to having no presents under the tree because we forgot to put them all out.  It’s just a waiting game.

Leave a Reply

