Inspection Passed!

Yeah, that’s the news!  The inspection was passed.  All of that is over for another year.  We didn’t even have the same inspector and this one barely glanced over the place before signing off.  The other guy was a lot more particular.

In other words, I spent way too much time stressing about this and didn’t need to.  The other responsible adult in the house took time off of work this morning (which turned out to be a good thing) so I could go to my counseling appointment and someone would still be here to meet the inspector.  That meant the inspection happened while I was at my appointment, which saved me the anxiety of being here for it.  Thankfully he was still able to go in for the remainder of his day at work.

That brings me to my counseling.  We talked about my hesitance to homeschool and what I was actually afraid of.  Much like this inspection it’s not a rational fear.  I’m afraid to homeschool because I’m afraid I’ll be judged harshly because of it.  I’m afraid my kids won’t pass inspection if that’s the case.  I’m just not sure I’ll be good enough to make the state happy with me.  Screw the state, I’m not sure I could make my family happy with me!

But this all comes around to the same thing.  The house passed the inspection, even with two trash bags of wrapping paper in the kitchen and dishes in the sink.  The same is going to come of me and homeschooling.  The only people I have to prove myself to are the school board, and even then I can do it with portfolios of the kids work rather than the mandatory state testing kids in school have to go through.  I can do this.  If I can pass the inspection, I can pass that standard too.

That being said, I’ve decided to do it.  I’m taking the leap.  I’m going to get the curriculum for the online schooling for the kids in January.  I’ll give them a week, maybe two, then I’m going to pull them out of school.  I’m ready to do this.  The only one that’s going to be left in is my daughter, and that’s simply because she originally said she wanted to wait out the year.  Now it doesn’t look like that’s going to matter much.  She wants to homeschool now.  I’ll be sending in her paperwork once money comes in to slap a stamp on it.

I feel like this is a victory.  I’ve lasted out two days of my family being in my home, passed the inspection, and now I’ve made up my mind to homeschool.  This is a good day.  Now I just need to keep with my convictions on homeschooling straight through the point I withdraw the kids from school.

One thought on “Inspection Passed!

Leave a Reply

