Totally Peopled Out (Also, Groundhog Day)

Let’s start with the obvious, Groundhog Day.  Seriously, groundhog?  We’ve still got winter to look forward to?  And the weather has been mild thus far.  I’m hoping this year the groundhog is wrong and we don’t have six more weeks of winter.  Even then, it’s only six more weeks, right?

As for the rest of it, yesterday I was so done on people.  I’m not entirely sure how it happened.  It just crept up on me.  I was out at a class with the kids and got totally overwhelmed.  Then I got a ride home from a friend of the other responsible adult in the house.  She stayed longer than I wanted, which added to the overwhelming nature of it all.  Then the other responsible adult brought me sushi, but it looked weird so I didn’t want to eat it.  The whole thing ended in tears over sushi, hiding in my room, and being coaxed out with my favorite blanket and a promise of mashed potatoes.  Yes, mashed potatoes is a comfort food for me.

I think all of this was compounded by not having Nika with.  There’s not enough room to bring her to class with the kids, so I don’t.  Tomorrow is going to be interesting.  This is going to be the first time I leave her totally alone in a long time.  I have a feeling she’s going to bark her head off like crazy, but what can I do about that?  I can’t really bring her with.  I really need to get her a crate to go in while I’m gone.  It won’t stop the barking but I’ll at least know she won’t be able to eat anymore laundry.  I’m really nervous about it.  Part of leaving her home gives me bad anxiety too.  Will she bark her head off while I’m gone?  Will she be a total bother to the neighbors?  Will this somehow make it so she’s no longer welcome here?  I know it’s not something I really have to worry about, but I will continue to worry about it.  I may just suck it up and find a way to bring her tomorrow, both for the people factor and for the nerves about leaving her home alone.

At the same time, I need to get used to this.  I’m going to have to leave her home when she’s in heat again.  The neighbors with the unaltered male dog are being evicted, so I don’t have to worry about that anymore.  I think I’ll just leave her be.  Taking care of her isn’t that big of a deal.  I’m mostly just worried about the male dog in the house.

I need to get over my own anxiety about pretty much everything.  I mean, I can handle going to class without her.  I lasted all these years without her.  One day shouldn’t be a big deal.  I should be able to handle this, right?  Right?  We’ll see what happens tomorrow.

 

Leave a Reply

